BWF World Championships Betting – Odds on the World Badminton Championships

The Badminton World Federation (BMF) World Championships have been held since the first edition in 1977. It is used by the BWF for ranking players and teams and also for qualification to the Olympic tournaments. The winners become world champions and go home with gold medals. There are five categories: men’s singles, women’s singles, men’s doubles, women’s doubles, and mixed doubles. However, there are no monetary prizes for the winners. Due to the rising popularity of the game, it is now possible to place bets during the tournaments. This is thanks to the increasing number of sports betting firms such as 22bet, LeoVegas and ComeOn among many others.

Bet Now
  • Great Mobile Platform
  • Huge Bonus
  • Good Odds
  • Hindi Language
  • Great Betting Platform
  • Very Large Bonus

BWF World Championships Betting Guide

Betting on BWF badminton tournaments is easy and simple. Even if you are new, you easily catch up. You can place either pre-match or live bets. The former need you to place your stake before the game begins while the latter allows you to place while the match is in progress. The odds for the game pre-match are fixed and do not change while those for the live stakes change depending on how the game is progressing. You should always have in mind that underdogs in the match will have higher odds than those likely to win the game.

The easiest bet you can place is choosing to predict the winning or losing team. This is a 50-50 situation, but it is less risky than most formats. If there are two teams, A and B, and you go for the latter to win, and they lose, then you will have lost your stake.

Another way you can bet is by predicting the right scores. In this, you have to be right with the scoreboard after the match ends. This is risky as there are surprises during the game. Besides, predicting the correct outcome depends on pure luck.

Depending on the sportsbook that you choose, the odds will be presented either in decimal or American format. The latter applies + and – signs showing you much money you need to risk to win the bet. Decimal odds show how much money you will get based on the total stake placed.

BFW History

The first edition was held in 1977 once in every three years. However, the IBF (International Badminton Federation), the then organizers, faced several challenges after the first two World Badminton Federation editions. They merged to form a single federation in 1895. It was held once every two years until 2005. However, from 2006, it became an annual event. Many of these editions were canceled due to the emergence of the coronavirus pandemic. Among them include such events as the Orleans Masters, Dutch Open, Akita Masters, Vietnam Open, and many others. The IBF is expected to announce resumption dates after evaluating the safety of employees and getting travel clearances from health and aviation experts.


Many players have won several categories since the inception of the tournament. Lene Koppen won the mixed doubles and women’s singles in 1977. However, the most successful players include Lin Dan, Park Joo-Bong, and Zhao Yunlei have five medals on their names. Cai Yun, Fu Haifeng, Gao Lin, Zhang Nan, Liliyana Natsir, and Hendra Setiawan have won four medals each. Those with three medals include players like Carolina Martin, Ge Fei, Guan Weizhen, Han Aiping, Huang Sui, and many others.

Prakash Padukone was the first Indian to win a medal, receiving bronze in 1983. Among the most notable players from India include Jwala Gutta and Ashwini Ponnappa. They won the bronze medal at the World Championships held in London in 2011. That was after waiting for 28 years. After that, PV Sindhu has won 4 medals after participating in 5 tournaments. He went ahead to become the first Indian to win a gold medal in 2019 at Basel, with Sai Praneeth taking bronze. Saina Nehwal also won 2 bronze medals in 2015 and 2017.

Nations and Teams

Since the first edition, China is the most successful team having a record 66 gold medals. They are followed closely by Indonesia, Denmark, South Korea, and Japan and have won 23, 10.5, 10, and 6, respectively. Spain has also won 3 with England following 2.5. India, Sweden, Thailand, and the United States have won once each.

China has produced the most successful teams making the leaders of the WFB world championships. As mentioned earlier, Jwala Gutta and Ashwini Ponappa are the only teams to have won bronze in London in 2011.

BWF World Championships Betting


Most betting sportsbooks in India, such as 22bet, Leovegas, ComeOn and many others, provide different bonuses to gamblers. The awarded rewards also change depending on the type of bonus. Among the most famous include the welcome bonus after registration, money back, and free bet bonus. Always compare the bonus offers to get the best deal.

Remember always to bet responsibly!